South Swindon & Labour

The constituency of South Swindon was created in 1997, incorporating the southern parts of the old Swindon constituency – which had been in place since 1918 – and parts of Devizes.  As such, the constituency contains a real mix of urban and sub-urban areas and lifestyles.

Julia Drown (Labour) was MP from 1997 until stepping down in 2005, when Anne Snelgrove fought and won the seat for Labour.  Labour lost the seat in 2010 – however we’re working hard to win it back!

South Swindon is made up of 12 Swindon Borough Council wards – two of which are currently shared with North Swindon.

South Swindon Constituency map